Historic Preservation & Architectural Review Board

Members


The City of Cohoes Historic Preservation & Architectural Review Board (HPARB) is a five-member citizen board appointed by the Mayor with five-year staggered terms.

Danielle Cherniak, Chair
Barbara Hildreth, Vice Chair          
Tom Rifenberg                                                                                     
Evan Lamb
John Frainier 

Overview



All owners of property located within Historic Overlay Zoning Districts in Cohoes must obtain a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) if they plan any exterior work on structures on their property or other changes to their property visible from a public street or way. This includes any change in the appearance of the property such as exterior painting, signs, awnings, light fixtures, fences, steps, sidewalks, parking lots, doors and windows, or other exterior elements. A COA is also required for new construction within designated Historic Districts, or demolition of designated local landmarks or structures within Historic Districts. In all cases, a COA is required whether or not a building permit is also necessary.

Please contact the City Planner should you have any questions regarding requirements in the historic district. 

Minutes, Agendas, and Future Meeting Dates 


Visit the City’s agenda center to access past meeting agendas, power points, and minutes, as well as upcoming meeting material. All scheduled meeting dates and their submission deadlines are listed below. Contact the Office of Planning should you have any questions.

   
 Submission Dates Meeting Dates
 Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Tuesday, March 2, 2021 Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Tuesday, July 6, 2021 Tuesday, July 20, 2021
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 Tuesday, December 21, 2021

 
*All deadlines and meeting dates are subject to change

Helpful Links


Historic Guidelines 
Gives a detailed overview of the Historic designations within the City of Cohoes, HPARB project review requirements for applicants, and best practices on renovations, restorations and new builds. 

Application Guidelines
Provides a project checklist and detailed overview of the HPARB application process. \

Acceptable Color Pallet in the Historic Overlay District 
The HPARB requires applicants to choose colors for exterior work and signage from the Benjamin Moore Historic Color Pallet. Please take this into account when developing your project. 

Technical Preservation Guidance
Provides a comprehensive overview of maintenance and preservation techniques and best practices. Additional guidance can be provided by contacting the City Planner.